Sign In Forgot Password

From Sinai To Seinfeld: Jews and Their Jokes

Upcoming Sessions

1. Tuesday, November 21, 2017 • 3 Kislev 5778

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMOak Park Temple

2. Tuesday, November 28, 2017 • 10 Kislev 5778

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMOak Park Temple

3. Tuesday, December 5, 2017 • 17 Kislev 5778

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMOak Park Temple

4. Tuesday, December 12, 2017 • 24 Kislev 5778

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMOak Park Temple

5. Tuesday, December 19, 2017 • 1 Tevet 5778

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMOak Park Temple
Past Sessions
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 • 25 Cheshvan 5778 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Oak Park Temple
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 • 18 Cheshvan 5778 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Oak Park Temple
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 • 11 Cheshvan 5778 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Oak Park Temple
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 • 4 Cheshvan 5778 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Oak Park Temple
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 • 27 Tishrei 5778 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Oak Park Temple

 

Rachel Wasserman Melton Scholars Series - 2017-18

 FROM SINAI TO SEINFELD:
JEWS AND THEIR JOKES

A treasure of irresistible jokes provides the organizing principle for a presentation of 10 major themes in Jewish history-- from the Israelite relationship with God to the growing divide between cultural and religious Judaism in the early 21st century. The course demonstrates that the most resonant Jewish jokes are deeply revealing sign posts along our Jewish journey. Treating Jewish jokes as text, the course invites students to analyze and interpret the evolving concerns, styles, rhythms, preoccupations, and values of the Jewish people that lie buried deep in words that make us laugh as Jews, and that bond us as a people.

 

Where:  Oak Park Temple, 1235 N. Harlem Avenue, Oak Park, IL
When:   Tuesday evenings 10 sessions, 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm  Begins 10/17/17
Tuition: $260 for consortium members and $360 for non-consortium members
Faculty: Marc Stopeck

 

Online registration at bjechicago.org
The Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sat, November 18 2017 29 Cheshvan 5778